Community Relations News Releases

Posted on: August 10, 2017

Ocoee Hosts Small Cities Council Meeting

NLC Small Cities Council 7-21-17 (JPG)

The City of Ocoee was proud to host the National League of Cities’ (NLC) Small Cities Council Meeting held on July 19 - 21, 2017.

The meeting took place at the city’s beautiful Lakeshore Center. There were 25 mayors and council members in attendance representing small cities from across the country and from as far away as Kodiak, Alaska (Population 6,191).

The NLC Small Cities program is for cities of 50,000 or fewer in population. More than 80 percent of U.S. cities are small cities and towns. With Ocoee’s population of nearly 42,000 and 27-year tenure as commissioner and mayor, Rusty Johnson serves as the capable chair of the NLC Small Cities Council.

During the 3-day meeting, city staff gave several detailed and informative presentations highlighting Ocoee’s vibrant economic development initiatives and partnering programs with neighboring cities and Orange County. In addition to the presentations, attendees toured Sysco Foods, Disney’s Central Shops Manufacturing facility and visited downtown Ocoee and Winter Garden.

Pictured above

1st Row

Mayor Robin Shelton, Scottsboro, AL; Vice Mayor Scott Maxwell, Lake Worth, FL; Mayor Joyce Downing, Northglenn, CO; Mayor Marvin Johnson, Independence, MN, Vice Chair-NLC Small Cities Council; Mayor Margaret Finlay, Duarte, CA; Councilmember Silke Pope, Greenbelt, MD; Ocoee Mayor Rusty Johnson, Chair-NLC Small Cities Council; Councilor Dave Paulekas, Laramie, WY; Mayor Alfred Mae Drakeford, Camden, SC, Vice Chair-NLC Small Cities Council; Ocoee Commissioner Joel Keller

2nd Row

Commissioner Ernie Anderson, Creedmoor, NC; Sarah Lindsay, NLC Community Development Director; Community Development Director Paul Thornton, Vienna, WV; Mayor Lou Ogden, Tualatin, OR; Ocoee Commissioner John Grogan; Councilor Thom Barnhorn, Seminole, FL; Councilmember Stuart Gillaspie, Burleson, TX; City Administrator Brian Dehner, Edgewood, KY; Councilmember Ed Putens, Greenbelt, MD; Councilmember Gabriel Saravia, Kodiak, AK; Councilmember Leon Maynor, Lumberton, NC

3rd Row

Ocoee Commissioner Richard Firstner; Vice Mayor Bo Perkinson, Athens, TN; Councilmember Joe Shumway, Laramie, WY; Councilmember Clyde Schulz, Beulah, ND.

Released 8/10/2017 >>
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Community Relations News Releases